What kinds of special educational needs are provided for at our school?

There are four types of Special Educational Needs and Disabilities (SEND), as stipulated in the SEND Code of Practice: 0-25 years, 2014.

  1. Communication and interaction
  2. Cognition and learning
  3. Social, mental and emotional health
  4. Sensory or physical

If a child has been identified as having a special educational need and/or disability, then their needs may fit into one or more of these categories.

A school’s provision for SEND is defined as support which is additional to or different from that which is available to all children.

At Whitchurch Junior School, we recognise that children make progress at different rates and not always in a steady linear pattern. Therefore, children are identified as having SEND in a variety of ways, including the following:

  • Liaison with Whitchurch Infant school/previous school
  • The child performing significantly below expected levels
  • Concerns raised by parent/carer
  • Concerns raised by class teacher
  • Liaison with external agencies, e.g. physical health diagnosis from paediatrician

If a child is identified as having SEND then their name will be added to the SEND Support register, but we recognise that children’s needs may change over time and provision must reflect this. The aim of any additional provision is for the child to achieve age expectations, so once they reach this threshold they may be removed from the school SEN register. If they fall behind again at any point, then they may be added to the register again.

Return to Information Report Main Page